Suggestion to a newbie to start his Modular soft synth Journey

Modular Synth design and releases (Reaktor, SynthEdit, Tassman, etc.)
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi Folks,

Really appreciate to you guys to suggest me a Modular synth (soft). I just narrowed down 2 softube Modular and Cherry's VM or even Tasman. Softube seems to me has lesser module then VM but based on my research both of them sounds pretty good to my ear. In terms of learning curve, visibility (graphic and connecting cables etc) and future expansion + costing. BTW, I am not a mad scientist and just make dance tunes like Trance/Electro stuff). Which one you guys suggest?

PS Please don't suggest VCV rack, thanks. I am looking for paid version.

Thanks!
Cowby

I know you don't want VCV suggested but have you actually tried it... and it can be paid for.
By that I mean there are paid for modules... The framework (ie the rack) is free as are many modules by independent devs.
I have about $100 invested in paid modules already with more being added to my collection.
Last edited by toonertik on Sun Dec 02, 2018 6:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

Thanks Tonnertik for your suggestion on VCV. However, very embarrassing ... I don't even know what to download. I d/l Rack 0.6.2c and it turns out was a 32 and 64bit bridge ?

Aha.. VCV is not YET a VST...
It is a standalone application (There will be a VST version later)
The 32 and 64 bit bridge are VSTs that load into a regular DAW and allow some comunication between the DAW and VCV_Rack.
As it is not a VST, it might not be what you want, however I do suggest you at least take it for a spin (try it) it is really quite addictive and extremly powerful with a really freindly and very helpful user group on FB with detailed Youtube tutorials.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/vcvrack/

Thanks will try to taste the power of VCV a little bit later.

As it is not a VST so I will continue to research on those 3 I mentioned.

:tu: