CPU or RAM/DFD problem?

Official support for: tx16wx.com
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi.
I keep getting what seems to be CPU related problems, but since I am new to sampling I don't know for sure. Any advice on this will be deeply appreciated!

Two problems occur more or less together. First, during playback I keep getting these sounds that resemble what you hear if a guitar jack plug is held half way into the socket of the instrument and/or amplifier. Terrible "scratching" sounds. Second, also during playback, the various TX-programs I am running leave out sounds/waves/notes here and there. Also for audio mixdowns individual sounds are left out. It seems that the higher the MIDI note density (more instruments playing at the same time, shorter notes), the more notes are left out.

I notice that some of the waves I've mapped out in my programs are played back in RAM mode, some in DFD (although they were dropped in the same region and group simultaneously.
RAM DFD.jpg
I am running TX16Wx (3.0.11 5054.945) as a VST instrument plugin in Cubase AI 7 on an old PC (Intel Core i5-3450 CPU, 3.10GHz, 8 GB RAM, x64 bits, 170 GB free storage).

EDIT: I've tried increasing the DFD buffer from 4096 to 16.384, and it might have improved these issues somewhat, but not nearly all of it.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

While the machine is not super fast, and even with a spinning disk, it should be enough to drive quite a heavy workload. Can you provide the samples and the mapping program so I can analyze its performance? You might have a just legitimate overload here. But might be some real code issue.
You can also try to set all regions to RAM and decreasing playback quality to "normal" and see how you performance is.
TX16Wx Software Sampler:
http://www.tx16wx.com/

How do I provide you with the samples and mapping program?