Question about "Using ASDR Envelopes With Synthesizers"

Any problems with the site? How can we improve KVR?
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

The article states: "The Release controls how long a sound takes to get back to silence after a user releases the note. A Piano has a long release parameter set because it takes a long time for the sound to actually get silent." Is this correct? Once a key on a piano is released, the sound goes to silence almost instantly. I'm trying to understand ASDR. If I understand it correctly, a piano has a fast attack, no sustain (because the sound decrecendos immediately after the note is played), a fairly long decay, and a very short release. Am I correct? If not, then can someone explain ASDR?

Thanks!

Yes, you are correct :). The article has some errors indeed (link). I might try to correct it later; I'm not very good with English though.

gsoto, nevertheless, your article was very informative and helpful.

Mike

Oh, it's not mine, actually. :D

AUTO-ADMIN: Non-MP3, WAV, OGG, SoundCloud, YouTube, Vimeo, Twitter and Facebook links in this post have been protected automatically. Once the member reaches 5 posts the links will function as normal.
i agree with you on the "piano amp env". btw: i have NEVER heard of an "ASDR" envelope. i guess what the wiki-article meant to talk about was ADSR and not ASDR.
The D stands for Decay. When a player hits a note on a keyboard the Attack happens first, then the Sustain. If the player holds down the note long enough the Decay parameter will kick in.
i mean that's just wrong, wtf. decay kicks in directly after the attack till the sustain value is reached. and the sustain value will NOT drop over time, another thing the article states:
The S stands for Sustain. This controls how long the peak volume of a sound is held.