Help, strange digital artifacting sound when using amp sims

...and how to do so...
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Sorry if this isn't the right place to post this, it's my first time posting here and I couldn't find a general support area on the forum. I've posted this elsewhere on the internet but I turned to here because I didn't get any response on the issue. Here it goes:

I connect my guitar, a PRS SE Custom 24 with stock pickups, to a Behringer UMC204HD which is connected to my PC which has an i7 4790k cpu, where I usually have the audio interface set to 41000Hz and a latency buffer of 128. The computer can more than handle this. I've tested this with multiple different kinds of headphones and monitors connected to the audio interface and this problem happens on every set.

On the majority of amp sims that I've used, when playing high notes around the range of the B and e strings above the 12th fret, if I listen close, there's a strange digital sounding warble that's lower in frequency than the note I'm playing. The audio interface is not clipping and the gain is set rather low. The two biggest amp sims I've had this problem with have been BIAS and Amplitube.

The only amp sims I didn't have this problem with is the free Ignite amp you get when downloading NADIR, and the PRS Supermodels amps if you turn the amp's bias setting to 0, which is unfortunate since I like the sound of that setting turned up a bit. This also does not happen when increasing the harmonics knob in NADIR.