DIY help

...and how to do so...
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi! I'm trying to make my own MIDI Keyboard, of sorts.

Are there any places where I can get just the basic parts of a MIDI keyboard
(Keyboard, Pre-wired, knobs, pads, etc? / Parts that I can just plug right into a breadboard, for example))

I'm new to making DIY synths, FYI.

I'm trying to take a Keyboard and add in a very tiny PC into it so I can carry around a keyboard that has Ableton Live right in it.

I want a MIDI port on the Keyboard, so I can plug it into my home computer, and use it as a MIDI Keyboard.

I'm guessing there would be a MIDI port that connects to the built-in pc, and then maybe there'd be a switch that switches between 2 different midi ports, one that controls the built-in computer, and one that has the midi out that can connect to my home computer.

I hope this makes sense.

I just want the parts, I want to make my own case/cabinet. preferably I would like to be able to buy certain panels for things like pads, and knobs, sliders, etc. That I can easily wire/connect to the keyboard.

Again, sorry if im not making sense, I don't know what the exact terms are.

To sum it up, I'm trying to find a Pre-wired midi Keyboard, without the casing, essentially. I just want a keyboard that is already wired up, with some ability to add on things like knobs and touchpads.

I'm fine with wiring them up, as long as it's easy.
Last edited by Fox_GAMING_NTF on Mon Aug 05, 2019 2:09 pm, edited 2 times in total.

The internal pc/storage might be the hardest part.
Default starting point...
https://www.google.com/search?q=midi+co ... e&ie=UTF-8
Sorry, they (of course) add some ads that make little/no sense
:evil:

Thanks! Yeah, it's a wacky idea, but, as far as I know, no one's ever done it before.

Are there any pre-built ones, just without the case?

(Keyboard, Pre-wired, knobs, pads, etc? / Parts that I can just plug right into a breadboard, for example))