New Custom Music Desk

...and how to do so...
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I've been talking about it for years, and now it's time to actually build an audio desk for my space.

I'm an amateur producer, make no mistake, but I'd still like a music production desk I could be proud of. After seeing Quantum7's build here, I've decided to "put pen to paper" and design my desk, once-and-for-all.

I'm borrowing from desks I've seen all around the 'net, from an 88-key controller roll-out shelf, to rack spaces above and below the work surface, to the wheels that I'll eventually install so I can move it around my space (against the wall while my husband is working, and in the middle of the room while he's on his PC in the same shared space.).

I'm still in the design phase, but I believe I have everything nearly worked out in 2d. Next, I'll model and render in 3d, work out any bugs that may exist, and then build, and finally finish my new Custom desk.

Plenty to buy in the meantime, so the actual build process will be slow, but design should be pretty quick.

This is a rough draft of what I have so far; sorry, no details nor dimensions yet:

It's being built out of higher-quality plywood and finished in tinted, clear lacquer.
Last edited by Vintage73 on Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
Blue Phase Music

Yeah...looks like it is doable.

Now that I have the time to get the job done I think my desk will be using my old architect's drafting table. 3/4" white oak 38" deep and 60" long. I got some laminated pine for the legs 3/4" wide ... mmmm
Barry
If a billion people believe a stupid thing it is still a stupid thing