Late 2019 MacBook Pro Specs for Logic Pro X

Configure and optimize you computer for Audio.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I got tuned off to the idea of buying a new Windows 10 laptop because of continued reports and uncertainties associated with DPC latency. So I decided to bite the bullet, play it safe (?) and buy a new MacBook Pro (either 13 or 15 inch) with Logic Pro X installed, also supported by Apple.

I would appreciate suggestions on which features to order that will be “comfortably sufficient” for my relatively modest music production needs. I am a hobbyist creating mostly background tracks for my solo performances. However, I do plan to buy plug-in instruments like Kontact Komplete 12 which may have large sized samples. I will use the MacBook mostly as a home office computer and with a large 4K external monitor, so the internal display size does not matter.

Obviously, the 15-inch MacBook Pro is the best way to go with all the top end features I can afford. That’s a given. But I’d like to see if I can save a few bucks with a top-end 13-inch model with the following:

2.8GHz quad core 8th generation Intel Core i7 processor, Turbo Boost up to 4.7GHz (Comfortably sufficient? The upgraded six core CPU is only available on the 15-inch.)

16GB 2133MHz LPDDR3 memory (Comfortably sufficient? The upgraded 32 GB memory is only available on the 15-inch.)

512GB SSD storage (I would use it with a 2 TB external SSD for song files and sample libraries. Is USB-3.1 Gen 2 connectivity comfortably sufficient rather than the faster and more expensive Thunderbolt 3?)

Intel Iris Plus Graphics 655 graphics (Is this comfortably sufficient for a single 32-inch external 4K monitor? Upgraded graphics are only available on the 15-inch.)

Thanks for your feedback and suggestions.

Turbo Boost is not going to kick in too often unless you use software that leans hard on a single core, or that's my received understanding.

if you get into 'large size samples' at all, do the 32GB