Better RAM or SSD upgrade?

Configure and optimize you computer for Audio.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hello guys,

I have this configuration of a laptop to buy:

CPU
Processore Intel® Core™ i7 8750H 6 core (2,2 GHz, 4,1 GHz Turbo)
RAM
DDR4 SODIMM Corsair 2666 MHz 16 GB (2 x 8 GB)
SSD M.2
SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS M.2 512GB, NVMe PCIe (up to 3500 MB/R, 3200 MB/W)

Now I have the chance for a small upgrade, and I can choose between either a
RAM
DDR4 SODIMM Corsair 2666 MHz 32 GB (2 x 16 GB)

or

SSD M.2
SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS M.2 1TB, NVMe PCIe (up to 3500 MB/R, 3300 MB/W)

I'm an amateur producer, that will mainly play with VSTs, some effects, very hard to have more than 20 tracks at the same time (never had so far but who knows). Genre: soul, gospel, r'n'b.

Thank you for your insights!
Last edited by ilwoody on Sun Mar 24, 2019 8:53 am, edited 2 times in total.

I'd go for the bigger SSD , 16gb ram is plenty .

Can't know if 16GB is sufficient, it isn't for me. Some people need far, far more for what they do.
If you're not running out of RAM as it is, you don't, probably. The specs for the other SSD aren't apparent, but NVMe is significant if the other is say a SATA connection to the motherboard.

Forgot to mention that I already have a Samsung 1TB external SSD to add at this setup. So at this very moment, without any upgrade I have 512GB+1TB SSD. Thank you guys

are you a kontakt user -- if yes
get a ram upgrade

if you are into audio clip manipulation inside your daw get a ssd
Win 10 x64 with specs enough to run DAW without bouncing any track
KZ IEM,32-bit 384Khz dac running at 32bit 48Khz
mainly use REAPER, MTotalbundle, Unfiltered Audio TRIAD and LION, NI classic collection,......... ETC

If you already have external storage then go for another 16gigs ram

Hello there,