Share your Mac studio setup

Configure and optimize you computer for Audio.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hey KVRians! Mac newbie here. Setting up a new Mac and wondering how to organize my folders. It comes with a 512 GB internal SSD. Should I use that for projects or for sample library?

One idea is to leave my PC as is, set up a new SSD for samples one for projects, which is what I did for my PC. Maybe even use my PC as a slave.

What’s your drive/folder structure like? Any external must-have accessories for the Mac?

I have a 2016 MBP (w/touchbar). It has a 256 GB internal drive.

I got a Samsung EVO 860 1TB ssd drive which I put in a thunderbolt enclosure. I keep all Logic Pro X sounds on it, as well as the entire Komplete 11 installation.

I also have a 2TB Western digital external drive 5400 rpm) for backups, archived project files etc.
My Soundcloud Too many pieces of music finish far too long after the end. - Stravinsky

Get a bigger drive.

The whole thing of organizing a drive the old ways is not necessary anymore with the new SSDs. I don't do anything, it's all on the one system drive.
The ideas from spinning drives, where to place, are pointless with a solid state drive. It's all the same access.

But I regret not getting 2TB or more, I'm out of space from samples libraries.

I'm talking about the new 2018 MBP. My performance, with a pretty large project, is excellent. I don't have any audio breakup and I'm able to make the notes land in time. I have far, far better performance than I did using multiple drives, caring about all that, on a Mac Pro, and with less cores. I have their fastest 6 core.

I have a 7200RPM for backup, and I use Time Machine.

I have a 2012 Mac Mini (quad i7 2.3 -> 3.2 GHz), added 16 GB Ram but no SSD (yet) still a beast, using many instances of Spire, Dune 2 and various effect plugins. Using my Virus TI as a plugin as well, it gives me a lot of freedom not affecting CPU power