Been working on this for a while now.

Share your music, collaborate, and partake in monthly music contests.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

https://soundcloud.com/lessera/light-ye ... ra/s-Hd1u9

Mixing mostly on headphones these days (not loving that much) :? .

It's a bit retro, and a bit down-tempo. Does the mix sound too harsh? 2000 - 4000hz frequencies are a bit of a crap-shoot with these headphones.

Thanks in advance for any feedback.
Last edited by lessera on Mon Jan 21, 2019 2:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

I like retro and down-tempo :)
Sounds good here, but listening on headphones myself. The mix sounds solid to me.
Maybe you could add a little melodic variation towards the second half.

I think there's a lil bit too much pitch modulation at 2:54 & 3:14. Sounds a bit weird. But maybe that was intended.

Lol. Those pitchy spots you mentioned were supposed to be my Rudess(que) on-the-fly pitch bends. Though I am a guitarist, and not much of a keyboard player. :? Fair enough though, I tightened up the timing of those bends a little. Hopefully they don't sound so over-stated now.

Thanks for the feedback. :)

(This track was done using Reason 10.2, with a few REs for some of the synth bits)

harsh? quite the contrary... i think it lacks some HF content, like a tinkle here and there.
It can also use a bit of an overall volume boost then again, it is a pleasant mix as is.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
HW SYNTHS [KORG T2EX - AKAI AX80 - YAMAHA SY77 - ENSONIQ VFX]
HW MODULES [OBi M1000 - ROLAND MKS-50 - ROLAND JV880 - KURZ 1000PX]
SW [CHARLATAN - OBXD - OXE - ELEKTRO - MICROTERA - M1 - SURGE - RMiV]
DAW [ENERGY XT2/1U RACK WINXP / MAUDIO 1010LT PCI]

You're right. Volume boost definitely needed. I accidentally forgot to disable a 10db pad that I had put on the master channel during the final render. :bang: (bone-headed oversight).