How do I change the guitar articulation during a sequenced guitar track in Cubase?

Official support for: orangetreesamples.com
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi. I'm using OTS in Kontakt in Cubase. I have a sequenced guitar track and I want the first few bars in whole step slide-ins. How do I get the first few bars to be played as slide-ins before automatically moving directly to sustained fingered notes in the following bars?
How do the controllers work? I'm very new to this.
Regards,
Richard Steed

Hi Richard,

It depends on what method you prefer, but there are a few options:

If it's only for those first few bars, I would recommend using a non-latching keyswitch that's assigned to the slide-in articulation--that would be my choice, personally.

You could also use a MIDI CC. I haven't used Cubase, but I'd imagine the sequencer has some sort of MIDI CC lane where you would add that MIDI data to trigger a MIDI CC. You'll probably want to use a MIDI CC number like CC 2, since CC 1 is set to control the vibrato by default, and then set the range to 64-127--that way when the MIDI CC is halfway up or more, it will select that articulation.

Finally, if you like using a MIDI key to select articulations, but dislike having to keep the note held the entire time, try out the latching keyswitches. After pressing the keyswitch, that articulation will be selected indefinitely until you either press a different latching keyswitch or the unlatch key (mapped right below the main playing range, directly below the strum down and up keys).

Hope that helps!

Greg
Greg Schlaepfer
Orange Tree Samples
Ultra-realistic sample libraries for Kontakt

If I selected CC2 , how would I select the articulation when I want,how does CC work? I've never understood how CC's work. It's something I've never been able to understand. I know it's MIDI, but how will I be able to change the articulation using this CC technique when I want to select it using this method?