Connecting multiple MIDI keyboards?

Locked New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi -- I'm new to Cantabile and hoping someone can give me some guidance on using multiple MIDI keyboards with the program. So far, I have successfully used the program with a single MIDI keyboard controller (a Yamaha P80 stage piano). I'd like to add an additional 61-key MIDI controller keyboard for added flexibility and control sliders.

My question is whether it's possible to configure two MIDI keyboard controllers to work together with a laptop running Cantabile (connected via an E-Mu 0404 audio/midi interface). I'd like to know if it's possible to create a MIDI chain with the two keyboards (perhaps with each operating on a separate MIDI channel) and connect them to the MIDI In on the E-Mu 0404, which is connected via USB to my laptop running Cantabile Solo. If this is feasible, how do I chain the controllers, and how do I get Cantabile to recognize them as separate controllers?

Thanks for any assistance/advice you can provide.

Allen

Connecting multiple midi devices is no basic problem as long as Windows identifies all your keyboards and controllers proper. Cantabile uses the Windows midi ports so trouble is usually not a Cantabile problem but Windows related or a driver issue.

As far as Cantabile is involved you can assign the keyboard port (some keyboards have more than one port) and midi channel for each individual rack.

You can not simply chain midi outputs together (like you can with inputs via midi through for sound modules) without a special device (or feature in your keyboard) called "midi merger". Usually an external device is expensive and not worth getting. Better you have keyboards with straight USB ports or alternatively another PC interface with more than one midi input.

Hope this helps. If not feel free to ask more... I think you should understand your options before purchasing anything. :wink:
Last edited by TiUser on Mon Oct 04, 2010 9:41 am, edited 1 time in total.