Just one more thing I have noticed-updates-Legacy vs Instruments

Official support for: hgsounds.com
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I have all of Andy's Kontakt libraries and going through and getting the latest updates.

Just downloaded the Evolution and Awakenings libraries he has 2 Inst sections- 1. Instrumenets 2. Legacy
Both have same names.

At first I didn't pay much attention to the differences until I started playing sections 1 and 2 above. I then went into the editor and looked at Instrument options. I see at least one difference.

1. Instruments - has the DFD turned off
2. Legacy- has the DFD turned on

With DFD turned off- some notes don't play the first time on the keyboard-the 2nd time they do cause they are now loaded to play. So I turn on some of the samples as I start to play notes on the keyboard.
With DFD turned on-- samples are all loaded and ready to play the first time.

Now I kinda know what the DFD does. With Kontakt version 5.6.5 and in Windows 10 I can run both 1 or 2 above cause having DFD on does not seem to crash my Kontakt at least for me

take care,

Dave

Yes basically the legacy is exactly as you describe, I left them just in case, but I would suggest people use the newer ones just in case, as far as I'm concerned the fact that this option exists means that NI don't have 100% confidence in it :)

Cool thanks Andy. That's one thing I never played around with in Instrument options until now. Learn something new everyday.

Jumping from Kontakt ver 5.5.2 to ver 5.6.5 took me just a little bit to find where they put a few things. The Kontakt effects had me scratching my head on where to access them. Had to read their manual to find them. Now its easy to do.