select a waveshape??

Official support for: sonicbirth.sourceforge.net
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi,

I am very new to sonic birth so apologies if this is a simple question.

I am trying to build a synth with 4 selectable waveshapes ie, sine, saw, square and triangle. From reading the documentation it seemed to me that the way to do this would be with a piecewise circuit.

So I have my piecewise circuit with two inputs, freq and vel and an argument 1-4 to select 4 sub circuits each with a different osc in.

All 4 osc's share 1 output.

This however, doesn't work. Is this how the piecewise circuit is intended to work, or am I missing something?

I can't find any kind of logic switch in the drop menu?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers.

ok so here's a tutorial

1. create an indexed argument.

2. then create a midi-multi-note argument and add 1 additional input and output(no need to worry about the attack and release inputs).

3. click on the indexed argument and create 2 more values in the settings so you now have 4 values.

4. select the first value and rename it to sine and set its value setting to 0 then select the second value and rename it to saw and set its value setting to 1
then select the third value and rename it to square and set its value setting to 2
then select the fourth value and rename it to triangle and set its value to 3.

5. link the indexed argument to the additional channel you made earlier (you can instead of calling it channel 2 ect. you can call it gentype if you want)

6. click on the midi-multi-note argument and click next

7. create a piecewise circuit inside the midi-multi-note and create 2 additional inputs and 1 output

8. link the gentype input to the range input on the piecewise circuit and link the note and velocity inputs to the 2 additional inputs you made.

9. click on the piecewise circuit and add 3 more ranges so you currently have 4.