I've made an error purchasing this mixer? help!.

Anything about hardware musical instruments.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hello. I'm a novice in regards to this matter, so, please excuse me for my lack of knowlegde.

I've purchased a Behringer Xenyx 1202 FX mixer, and I have some doubts:

I want to use it to mix several instruments at once and apply some effects in real time. To hear the mix, I want to purchase a pair of Mackie CR4, wich have two umbalanced/balanced TRS jacks.

My first problem cames from one page of the manual, the one that describes the MAIN OUT jacks:

"MAIN MIX - The main OUT connectors are umbalanced mono jacks. The main mix signal appears here at a level of 0 dBu. The MAIN MIX fader adjusts the volume of these outputs"

what means "Appears here at a level of 0 dBu"? what would this mean if I want to use a normal pair of studio monitors with this mixer?.

My second problem cames from another page of the manual and the rear of the Mackie CR4:

as you can see on the diagram, two PA Speakers are connected to the MAIN OUT jacks, these output jacks aren't suitable for studio monitors like the Mackie CR4?.

By other hand, on the rear of the CR4 I can see this:

"TRS (BAL/UNBAL)" would means "TS/TRS "? a normal mono jack (1 ring) vs a balanced jack? (two rings).

Hello and many thanks for your time.

EDIT: Wrong model (Two XLR VS Four), sorry for that, I fixed the image.
Last edited by Juno60 on Wed Jan 15, 2020 7:45 pm, edited 2 times in total.

You just need 2 unbalanced ts to ts cables.

The main difference appears to be that the Main Mix out level is controlled by the main faders and the other outs are set at 0db (not adjustable) which is line level ... the Mackies will work with balanced or unbalanced cables, so they'll work with either output from the mixer using unbalanced cables.

what means "Appears here at a level of 0 dBu"? what would this mean if I want to use a normal pair of studio monitors with this mixer?.