Linnstrument for keyboard newbie?

Anything about hardware musical instruments.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi guys,

I just found this interesting midi controller called linnstrument. It seems to be very playable and inspiring. However, the problem for me is that I am a newbie in term of playing keyboard. I have only played drum and mouthpiece instrument before, so I have like no experience in keyboard or guitar. I do however, know something about music theory. And I actually can play short melodies on my 2 octave small midi keyboard for my general production purposes (However, strong quantization and post editing is required).

So, I am wondering if linnstrument is useful for me? I think I can use it to inspire and play for fun (after Iearning of course) I am willing to devote time and effort to learning it.
Trance, Trance Is Life

You might start here:

viewtopic.php?f=290&t=512669
Incomplete list of my gear: 1/8" audio input jack.

Not being able to play piano keyboard very well, may be an advantage.

It is said that learning to play in all keys is hard on piano keyboard but I have felt that it is among the easiest. The keys are big and it is reasonably easy to hit the right ones and miss the wrong ones and sure the fingering takes some practice but it is quite feasible to manage to play the kind of things a keyboard is good at, in any key, without tying the fingers in knots. Its not really a different fingering for each scale. Sure more than one possible fingering to learn but there is broad overlap. And some famous planists managed to play great with horrible fingering.