How to make this nice bass

How to make that sound...
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Good Morning

I use ableton and I have Serum and Spire only for now.
As I am a beginner in sound design, I just wanted to ask if someone knows how to generate this kind of bass, I just love it.
It starts around 30s

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2OaYnCiZhjA

Since you are apparently quite new at this: it's a pretty generic SAW sub oscillator bass. That's a good thing, since many synths can create these sort of basses.

2 SAW oscillators, 1 SAW tuned an octave down. Sub at 100%, the other turned down a little (-6 or 7 dB)
Send this through a 24 dB/oct Lowpass filter (pretty much closed, around some 130 Hz), little bit of resonance.
Filter cutoff modulation ENV, steep attack then decay of say half a second (to no sustain level), just an octave and a bit of modulation amount. Short release.
Amp ENV, steep attack then decay of say half a second to some 90+% of sustain. Short release.
MONO Legato (do not retrigger envelopes). And a bit of Portamento time (25 ms or so).

Notes: C, D#, C where D# to C is mono portamento (where the D# is held down, while playing the C).

So far, so good. Then for the nasty details....

There are many "SAW" oscillator shapes. And many different sounding 24 dB/Oct filters. Some filter drive and/or waveshaping/distortion may be needed to get that "grunt". They also all sound/react different.

So if you want an "exact match", there are many more variables. But....if close is good enough, you'll get it.

The superb and very versatile and FREE Vember Audio - Surge surely offers all the needed ingredients (and much more). It can even shape/mix the oscillators waveshapes to get even closer.
https://www.kvraudio.com/product/surge-by-vember-audio

But simpler synths will probably also come close.