Which drum synth do you recommend

VST, AU, AAX, CLAP, etc. Plugin Virtual Instruments Discussion
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I've no experience of drum synths much beyond pad-triggered sample players (battery, impact, BFD).

But last week I got 2together Audio's Kick Synth, really like it, and want more of everything!!!

I'd like to hear which drum synth you prefer.

I'm more interested in a comprehensive staple drum synth that'll last, rather than a cool but limited gadget.

Maybe with multichannel outs, midi import/export, bags of presets, nice tweakability

Your thoughts welcome :)
Member 12, Studio One v6.5, VPS Avenger, Kontakt 7, Spitfire, Dune, Arturia, Sonible, Baby Audio, CableGuys, Nektar Panorama P1, Vaporizer 2 to test out

Kev, you might want to wait until MODO Drums comes out. It may (or may not) be a game changer.

Right now, I'm cautiously optimistic.

Outside of that, however, I use mostly samples that I've collected over time and load them into Battery 4. I also use EZ Drummer, STIX (for synth drums, which is arguably the best synth drum synth out there) and several of the Kontakt kits for specific periods like 60s, 70s, etc.

uTonic by Sonic Charge is pretty damn good, and there are a lot of presets available for it.

Very tweakable, and it has multi channel out, can be played with MIDI, etc.

$99 and you can download a 3 week trial version.

StiX and uTonic are bloody amazing, and so is Softube Heartbeat and FXPansion’s Tremor (though discontinued).

Has anyone tried AIR’s Drum Synth 500, is it good?

Interesting.

Am checking out all suggestions :)
Member 12, Studio One v6.5, VPS Avenger, Kontakt 7, Spitfire, Dune, Arturia, Sonible, Baby Audio, CableGuys, Nektar Panorama P1, Vaporizer 2 to test out

I'm mostly using drum racks and samples in Ableton. I've been thinking about trying FXspansion Geist2 at some point.

Microtonic, Rob Papen Punch, Avenger also has a good drum machine ...